Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve never really gotten into the whole Pumpkin craze for fall. Don’t get me wrong I love decorating with little warty pumpkins and squash and this year I even crafted some awesome gold metallic pumpkins for my buffet table display…but cooking with pumpkin…nah…

DSCF2606

But this year I don’t know what has gotten into me… I bought 2 cans of pumpkin puree and I’m bound and determined to use these babies up. And much to my surprise I’m loving me some pumpkin!! I know it’s good for me…I mean it is a fruit/veggie…so long as I don’t load it full of sugar than it’s all good!!

First I made pumpkin chocolate chip oatmeal cookies….not a huge leap out of my comfort zone since oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are my absolute fav!! After trolling around Pinterest for a while in the pumpkin zone I kept seeing oatmeal cookies and thought eehhh…whatever…but then the heavens opened and showed me these babies – Pumpkin Oatmeal DOUBLE Chocolate Chip Cookies. Winner Winner, Cookies for DINNER!! Click the link above for the full recipe. I made just a couple changes…you have to work with what you have one hand, right?!?! I substituted wheat flour for white, used all white sugar instead of half white and half brown and used 1 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips instead of the chocolate and white chocolate chip mix . These were the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made, so moist!! They were a huge hit at the Walking Dead Premiere party we brought them to and Chris, my dearest hubby, who is NOT a fan of pumpkin whatsoever ate them happily because they were super moist from the pumpkin but did NOT have a strong pumpkin flavor at all. For me…wanting something pumpkin tasting it didn’t quite fit the bill so my hunt continued for that pumpkin fix. Regardless…these are now my GO TO recipe for Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies!! Next time I’m going to try upping the nutritional content by swapping the sugar for honey….

DSCF2609

My next great Pinterest find was Pumpkin Pie Chia Pudding. If y’all haven’t discovered the magic of Chia Seeds then you’re in for a big ole treat today!! My bestie introduced me to these little seeds awhile ago. She was making a morning breakfast pudding with them while I was making homemade granola to top my yogurt or have with milk. Chia Seeds have been all the buzz in the diet community lately especially for die-hard Low Carbers like my bestie. I’m NO nutritionist or food expert so y’all can do more research into these little babies if and when you so chose for all the healthy claims and nutritional info. Me?? I like pudding!! I like making food at home versus buying the processed JUNK in the grocery store, I’m funny like that!! So if these little tiny seeds allows me to make any flavor of pudding I want without a bunch of chemicals – I’m ALL IN!! Thus Pumpkin Pie Chia Pudding was my next recipe to tackle in the great Pumpkin hunt. Click link above for the full recipe. This is AH-MAZ-ING!!! The only little change I made was using coconut milk instead of almond milk and I didn’t measure out the dates after I soaked & diced them, I just put 6 dates in…it looked close enough. This is out-of-this-world incredible!! It takes just like Pumpkin Pie filling!! And it’s good for me!! No crazy amount of sugar…no weird chemicals or ingredients I can’t pronounce…just real food that tastes like heaven on a spoon!! And I finally scratched that pumpkin itch!!

DSCF2608

I’m not stopping here tho… Once I get to hunting on Pinterest several hours can go by before I know it, it’s addictive!! While on my hunt I found a recipe for homemade pumpkin coffee creamer. Anyone who knows me knows I’m ALL about a good cup of java!! Add pumpkin to that?? Oh hell yeah, I’m there!! Keep y’all posted!!

Are y’all on a Pumpkin kick this year?? What are your fav recipes for fall?? I even saw a chili recipe with puree pumpkin…that might be taking it a little too far for me… Y’all??

With Much Love

Kristy

