Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This week has been a whirlwind adventure with my first attempt at Freezer Meals. It was a couple long days in the kitchen but SO worth it!! Just the other night I was able to have a girlfriend over for cocktails and supper with no fuss!! I mean seriously…I’ve never been able to invite someone over last minute and not spend the hour before they get here cleaning up and throwing something together for dinner. But this time…I poured my cocktail and just waited. No clean up necessary…no dinner worries… Just a fun evening with a lot of laughs and great stories!! SO worth it!!

With 2 days of cooking, with a day between and after to clean up and rest, I managed to get 20 dinners in the freezer and cook something every night this week!!

Dinners this week –

  • Chicken Lo Mein
  • Taco Casserole
  • Tacos
  • Pork Fried Rice

Dinners in the Freezer –

  • Chicken Fajtas – 2
  • Boiled Chicken – 2
  • Chinese Chicken & Broccoli
  • BBQ Chicken with Sweet Potatoes
  • Italian Chicken with Mushrooms, Spinach & Artichoke Hearts
  • Thai Cashew Chicken
  • Marinara (Spaghetti Sauce) – 2
  • Taco Soup
  • Taco Meat
  • Beef Fajtas
  • BBQ Pork Ribs – 2
  • Apple Porkchops
  • Chili
  • Small Chili & Baked Potatoes
  • Hot Sausage with Onions
  • Pork Fried Rice

Sides & Extras in the Freezer –

  • Shredded Potatoes
  • Diced Potatoes
  • Chili Beans
  • Tomato Sauce
  • Hot Sausage
  • Chicken Stock
  • Croutons
  • Smoothies – 12
  • Applesauce

I think I’m most impressed with the Chili Beans from scratch!! I’ve NEVER attempted anything like cooking dried beans…it just seemed over my capabilities…I mean…only a serious cook, a chef, cooks their beans at home…right?!? Nope!! They were surprisingly super easy!! We had them in our Taco Casserole and I could tell they were homemade but in a really good and yummy way!! WOOHOO!! Plus the cost savings is AMAZING!! I paid $1.50 for a 1lb bag of Pinto Beans, that’s A LOT of beans folks!!! A whole pots worth of beans went into Chili, Taco Soup, Taco Casserole and I have about a cans worth left over in the freezer still. ($1.50 for 1 bag vs $10.00 for approx 6 cans!!) And the bestest part is that I know everything that went into making them is clean real food, no chemicals or preservatives, just real from the earth food and lots of love!!

The applesauce turned out pretty darn amazing too!! And yet again, so super simple it’s ridiculous!! I simmered down 4 Fuji Apples, sliced with core removed but skins left on, with a little butter, cinnamon and water for an hour or so, then in a couple of batches I put them through the food processor. Done!! Applesauce Galore!! Did you notice that no sugar was used or needed?? This applesauce is plenty sweet and rich in flavor without adding a bunch of sugar, it simply isn’t needed folks!! But yet “they” insist on adding it to every processed food produced!! We’ll save that rant for another day though… I plan on using my applesauce in my Pumpkin & Banana bread recipes. I wonder if I can use it in my Whole Wheat Bread recipes?? There’s gotta be a way to help it not be so dense…I like hearty bread but 100% Whole Wheat is a bit passed hearty and just plain heavy. Any suggestions??

Well I’m off to begin my Birthday Celebration weekend!! Toodles!!

With Much Love

❤ Kristy

