Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Every once in a while life gets a little TOO crazy and I simply cannot sleep… Too many lists and worries running around in my head to allow dreamland to come. Tonight my friends is one of those nights!! I even took pills to help me sleep but still…here it is nearly 1am and I’m writing to you instead of joining Mr Man as he softly snores in our warm comfy bed.

Things have been a bit weird at work…busy in a different way than usual…all that end of the year/beginning of the year stuff but a few projects here and there. And of course the weather is dampening our plans with this un-freakin-believable cold front!! Southern Louisiana should NEVER have freeze warnings!! It’s just plain wrong!! Plus we’re trying to make sure everything is perfect before we go on vacation in a little over a week. Our first real vacation in years!! And a full week at that!! That’s right folks!! In less than 2 weeks from now we’ll be soaking up some serious sun on the deck of a cruise ship… AHHH….Fresh sea air, gentle breezes, warm sunshine and plenty of adult beverages!!

OK, back to the real world!!

On a positive note my sudden onset of insomnia allowed me to button up my 2nd round of freezer meals!! YIPPEE!! I can’t tell if I did more or less than the last round but I’m leaning towards more since I was smart this time and flattened everything instead of creating a freezer meat puzzle with all the baggies bunched up here, there and everywhere. It didn’t feel like it took as long either this time – BONUS!! I think the addition of a few extra kitchen gadgets from Christmas helped that out a lot!! Thanks to my wonderful Aunt Judy I now have a fancy veggie chopper, and egg slicer and a garlic press. Being able to clean then slice/chop my veggies 1-2-3 is priceless!! And nothing, and I mean NOTHING, is as fabulous as freshly mince garlic!!

So what does my freezer now hold??

  • Pork Chops with Apples
  • Sporkin
  • Beef Fajitas
  • Jambalaya
  • Gumbo
  • Shrimp Creole
  • Chicken & Bacon Meatballs (2)
  • Italian Meatballs (3)
  • Chicken Jalapeno Burgers (2)
  • Chicken Mushroom Bacon Swiss Meatloaf
  • Pork Ribs – Rubbed with BBQ & Garlic
  • Pork Ribs – Rubber with Coffee & Garlic
  • Squash Casserole (3 lunches)
  • Ham Slices (3)
  • Bacon (2)
  • Hot Sausage links (2)
  • Hot Sausage Chopped
  • Chicken Thighs
  • Chorizo (2)
  • Jalapeno Brats
  • Cooked Apples (2 lg baggies)
  • Applesauce
  • Marinara
  • Hashbrowns
  • Chicken broth
  • Chicken bones & veges for more broth
  • Veggie Soup
  • Chili Beans (3)
  • Smoothies (10)

OK, so maybe I didn’t do as many as it felt like. Especially since some of these only I will eat due to Mr Man and his strong dislike for seafood. But seeing as it’s already the 10th and we’ll be away for a week I think this will get us through the end of the month without a problem. Truth be told the last round of freezer meals I did was the beginning of November and with the holidays I was able to stretch that out for 2 whole months. A lot of the freezer meals made a dinner with lots of leftovers which I wasn’t expecting. And with budgeting being a big goal of mine for this year I can’t think of a better way to shrink our grocery bill and our waistlines than clean eating freezer meals!!

So what did I spend?? This month it was a little higher than I was hoping for but that’s mainly cuz the fridge, freezer and pantry were EMPTY when I started off. Even after my Costco run yesterday I’m right about $450 for the month. Keeping in mind we’ll probably have to run out for eggs, creamer and lettuce at some point but I should still come in WAY under my budget of $600 for the month.

I know $600 seems like a hefty budget for groceries but if you figure it out per day it’s less than $20 a day for 2 people. My goal is to dwindle it down to closer to $400 a month which is under $13 a day. We’re also getting away from a lot of the grains and other fillers and replacing them with more protein and veggies. A lot of the time the grains are the cheaper option but the way I’m looking at it is this – I’m going to spend the money one way or the other. I’d rather spend it on good food than doctors, drugs and other medical expenses down the line.

Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.”

-Hippocrates

I’m also planning on doing a little patio garden this summer. That should help bring the over all grocery budget down in a big way and help us to eat better all year-long!! Plus nothing beats fresh veggies picked out of your own garden that you’ve tended to and loved. Just ask my Mom!! 🙂

Any other budget saving ideas for clean eating out there??

❤ With Much Love

Kristy

